Johnny Manziel becomes first freshman to win the Heisman Trophy

Last Saturday, Texas A&M quarterback, Johnny Manziel became the first freshman in the history of college football to win the Heisman Trophy. He joined former halfback, John David Crow (1957) as the only Aggies to win the award.

Manziel threw for 3,419 yards and rushed for 1,181 yards, giving him 4,600 yards of total offense, breaking the old SEC record of 4,327 set by Cam Newton (2010). Newton broke the mark that was previously set by Tim Tebow (4,181) in 2007. All three quarterbacks won the Heisman in the year in which they established the new record.

Johnny Manziel took 474 first-place votes while Notre Dame linebacker, Manti Te'o finished second with 321 first place votes. Kansas State quarterback, Colin Klein finished third with 60 first place votes.

Congratulations Johnny Football!

Labels: , , , , , , ,